Week 1 – Choosing the community and first concept ideas

bbaeb895b059b74c73b02628f9c27940 copie

During this first week we had to choose a community we wanted to work with and see what we could do to help them.

I immediately knew I wanted to work with children as they have inspired me in the past and always enjoy creating new designs for them. I thought it would be interesting to work with pre-schoolers/kindergarten children as they are in a really deep learning phase at that age.

I decided that I wanted to do something fun such as a game on a technological device such as an iPad to help them connect to the outside world. Indeed, this generation of toddlers is getting more and more addicted to new technologies and I wanted to use it in a positive way so that it could connect them to the actual world, full of adventures and mysteries. I don’t know exactly how I want to use it yet but what I am sure of is that I want children to engage with what is around them as much as they can.

I did a small research about existing apps treating the same kind of problem to see what solutions had already been offered.

Lantern – An app that accompanies Mom and Dad’s bedtime story

9f2c2927510395.563673c75818c

ABCine – Educational tool for children that encourages playfully exploring the alphabet and expanding their vocabulary

6f9b6327387525.56364503e1e25

Rabapillar – Game developing children’s motor skills

6a81db15993275.562a5c137c74b

For next week i would like to do more research on the history of children video games and study this new « digital generation »

Laisser un commentaire

